Go

Children's Resources

RESOURCE Website What They Offer
bit.ly/whpl_bookflix Has your family tried Bookflix?

What is Bookflix? Thematically paired fiction and nonfiction titles which are designed to bridge learning-to-read and reading-to-learn gaps. Animated classic storybooks introduce early learners to the delights of reading while sparking curiosity, creating a natural springboard into the paired nonfiction text for deeper discovery. 
How does it work? Log in with your West Hartford library card. Don't have one? Click here to apply for one today! Choose a picture book (that is paired with a non-fiction book). Watch the story or read the book. Play games, do puzzles! Link to internet sites to learn more about the topic! Meet the authors of the book!

CT State Library logoCT State Library researchitct.org/classicpublic/ Largest selection of research databases free to all CT residents with a public library card, grouped by age & materials.
Facebook/716031539330763/ Our Librarians are doing great things on our Facebook page.
Tumble Book Library TumbleBook Library has over 1100 titles for grades K-6, including animated, talking picture books, read-along chapter books, National Geographic videos, non-fiction books, as well as books in Spanish and French. e-Book for e-Kids!
PRE-K to GRADE 2
RESOURCE Website What They Offer
ABCya! abcya.com/ Learning games and apps for kids (math, reading, typing, logic organized into grade levels – for children ages up to 5th grade)
Beyond the Chalkboard beyondthechalkboard.org/activities/ Activities designed by the staff of the Boston Children’s Museum.
Kid Lit TV kidlit.tv/ Explore the world of children’s literature.
Khan Academy Kids learn.khanacademy.org/khan-academy-kids/ Inspire a lifetime of learning and discovery with free, fun educational program for children ages two to seven.
Park Math This app is available only on the App Store for iPhone. A Preschool Math Game!
StoryBlocks storyblocks.org/ A collection of short videos designed to model to parents songs, rhymes, and fingerplays appropriate for early childhood.
Storyline Online storylineonline.net/ Stream videos featuring actors reading children’s books along with creatively produced illustrations.
Super Simple Songs supersimple.com/super-simple-songs/ Stories read to children.
Twenty Trucks youtube.com/user/twentytrucks A YouTube channel loaded with videos about vehicles.
The World of DR. SEUSS seussville.com/ All things Dr. Seuss!
INTERMEDIATE GRADES
RESOURCE Website What They Offer
Coding Classes khanacademy.org/hourofcode Learn how to program drawings using JavaScript by designing your very own snowman.
Commonlit Reading commonlit.org/ Reading passages for Grades 3-12 created by teachers for teachers.
Mystery Science Mysteryscience.com/ Lessons that inspire kids to love science..
National Geographic Kids kids.nationalgeographic.com/ Packed with virtual tours, brain boosters, animal facts, and tons of cool stuff for kids.
Scholastic Virtual Learning scholastic.com/teachers/student-activities/ Interactive learning and reading activities.
Scratch scratch.mit.edu Create stories, games, and animations to share with others around the world.
For the WHOLE FAMILY
RESOURCE Website What They Offer
BOOKLISTS:
Compiled by our Children's Librarians'
Conversations on Race, Racism and Resistance
Hunger, Poverty & Homelessness
Support Sensitive Conversations
Elections and Voting
Book lists, compiled by our children's librarians, with appropriate recommendations for every reading level and age.
CINCINNATI Zoo Home Safari keepingkidsconnected.com/event/cincinnati-zoo-home-safari-featuring-a-new-animal-each-day Visit the Cincinnati Zoo home safari featuring a new animal each day.
Crayola Coloring Pages crayola.com/featured/free-coloring-pages/ Coloring pages for the whole family.
CT Virtual Activities for At-Home Experiences ctvisit.com/articles/virtual-activities-for-at-home-experiences Popular CONNECTICUT attractions with special online experiences or projects to entertain, teach, and engage virtually.
Dance Together timeout.com/new-york-kids/things-to-do/best-dance-songs-for-kids Dance together as a family.
Every Child a Reader everychildareader.net/cbw/coloringpages-2020/ Twenty coloring pages from Every Child a Reader.
Fun Family Crafts funfamilycrafts.com/ Crafts for the whole family.
GoNoodle gonoodle.com/ Movement and mindfulness videos created by child development experts.
International Children's Digital Library childrenslibrary.org/icdl/SimpleSearchCategory?ilang=English Explore and learn how to promote tolerance and respect for diverse cultures with access to the best of children's literature from around the world.
Kidlit TV kidlit.tv/ Explore the world of children’s literature.
National Portrait Gallery, UK npg.org.uk/collections/explore/ The Gallery holds the most extensive collection of portraits in the world.
Overcoming Obstacles overcomingobstacles.org Hundreds of life skills lessons with tools to meet the social and emotional needs while also teaching practical skills.
Physical Education at Home familyfuntwincities.com/outdoor-games-for-kids/#outdoor-games-for-little-kids 7 YouTube Channels to get kids moving & grooving.
SAN DIEGO Zoo Live Cameras animals.sandiegozoo.org/live-cams/ Pop in on the elephant cam, the koala cam, and the panda cam, among many others at the San Diego Zoo.
Storyline Online storylineonline.net/ Stream videos featuring actors reading children’s books along with creatively produced illustrations.
We Are Teachers weareteachers.com/virtual-author-activities/ Children’s authors reading books and doing activities.
Wizarding World wizardingworld.com/ Harry Potter's world & so much more!